• Decrease font size
Welcome, Guest

Breaking the pain meds barrier
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: Breaking the pain meds barrier

Breaking the pain meds barrier 18 years, 9 months ago #129

• Al_in_Canada
Maybe some of you can remember this point in your lives.

I've always shunned away from prescription pain relievers, even so far as declining to fill a vioxx prescription for hip pain (one of the earliest AA symptoms I can remember) back before it got pulled.

My pain levels were tolerable, particularly since I'm no stranger to pain having grown up post Spina Bifida with the related physical deformities. I've been living a relatively normal life despite a 2\" difference in leg length, with no back problems. I was an electrician for 15 years until tennis elbow of all things knocked my off the construction site and into a desk position.

Enter progressive neuropathy, incontinence, chronic fatigue, a slew of diagnostics ruling out diabetes, low testosterone, vitamin deficiency, MS, an EMG shows peripheral nerves (legs and arms) are fine, but not getting stimulus from the brain. Two MRIs show no abnormalities in the head and cervical spine. (for some reason, they haven't done the thoracic, lumbar, or sacral spine areas).
(I dug up my medical records from 1965 and confirmed an L5/S1 laminectomy preceeded by a myelogram using 4cc Ethiodan. The otherwise very detailed report makes no mention of removal of the Ethiodan.)

I'm still without diagnosis of my current symptoms (the \"classic\" AA ones), but one of my two neurologists (the one who did the EMG) commented I was a \"very interesting case\" and \"I wish you were my patient.\"
He was amazing, actually. His office was like a tropical paradise with plants everywhere, even the treatment rooms and he wears these denim overalls!
I guess because EMGs are messy with all the soaking they do to warm your limbs.

I digress...back to pain.