Care Programme Approach

Tuesday, 05 April 2005 15:21


Introduced in 1991 as part of Government's mental health policy

4 stages:

  1. Assessment
  2. Development of care plan
  3. Key worker identified
  4. Regular review

4 Levels:

  1. Minimal
  2. More Complex
  3. Full, multidisciplinary
  4. Supervision register (significant risk to self/others)

The development of a care plan should be agreed by all involved including the client (patient) and any informal carers.

The Key worker is the main point of contact and monitors the delivery of the care plan.

There should be regular review of progress with agreed changes as appropriate.